SKEW 2011
16 – 17 February 2011
Lyngby, Denmark
ECRYPT Workshop on Symmetric Encryption
Symmetric Key Encryption Workshop 2011

Call for Papers

The call for papers is also available in a PDF version.

After an interruption of three years, SKEW 2011 will become the sixth in a series of ECRYPT workshops dedicated to symmetric-key encryption techniques. Continuing in the tradition of the previous SASC/SKEW workshops, SKEW 2011 will provide a forum for discussing the most recent developments in the field of stream ciphers. However, as opposed to earlier editions, this year's workshop intends to cover other aspects of symmetric-key encryption as well, ranging from new theoretical insights in block cipher cryptanalysis, to the design, implementation and deployment of encryption algorithms for/in severely constrained environments.

SKEW 2011 encourages submissions on any topic related to symmetric-key encryption (note that hash functions are not considered to be encryption algorithms). This includes, but is not limited to:

  • design or analysis of stream ciphers and block ciphers,
  • implementations of symmetric-key encryption algorithms,
  • reports on the deployment of symmetric-key encryption techniques in real-world applications,
  • updates on industry requirements with respect to symmetric-key encryption.

In order to prevent submissions to SKEW 2011 from conflicting with submissions to forthcoming conferences with proceedings, SKEW 2011 will have no formal proceedings, but a conference record will be available.

Important Dates

Submission deadline:January 10, 2011
Notification:January 24, 2011
Workshop:February 16–17, 2011

General co-Chairs

Gregor LeanderTechnical University of Denmark, Denmark
Søren S. ThomsenTechnical University of Denmark, Denmark

Program co-Chairs

Gregor LeanderTechnical University of Denmark, Denmark
Søren S. ThomsenTechnical University of Denmark, Denmark

Program Committee

Steve BabbageVodafone, UK
Alex BiryukovUniversity of Luxembourg
Andrey BogdanovK.U. Leuven, Belgium
Julia BorghoffDTU, Denmark
Anne CanteautINRIA, France
Carlos CidRoyal Holloway, UoL, UK
Joan DaemenSTMicroelectronics, Belgium
Christophe De Cannière K.U. Leuven, Belgium
Henri GilbertANSSI, France
Christoph HerbstNXP Semiconductors, Austria
Sebastiaan IndesteegeK.U. Leuven, Belgium
Thomas JohanssonLund University, Sweden
Emilia KäsperK.U. Leuven, Belgium
Dmitry KhovratovichMicrosoft Research, USA
Andreas KleinUGent, Belgium
Mario LambergerTU Graz, Austria
Stefan MangardInfineon Technologies, Germany
Willi MeierFHNW, Switzerland
María Naya-PlasenciaFHNW, Switzerland
Mastooreh Negin SalajeghehUMass Amherst, USA
Matthew ParkerUniversity of Bergen, Norway
Christian RechbergerK.U. Leuven Belgium
Matt RobshawOrange Labs, France
Patrick SchaumontVirginia Tech, USA
Martin SchläfferTU Graz, Austria
François-Xavier StandaertUCLouvain, Belgium
Dai WatanabeHitachi, Japan
Hongjun WuNTU, Singapore